To glaze or not to glaze….

….yes, that is a very good question.

When I first started working with polymer clay I glazed everything, and I do mean everything. It didn’t matter how small or big the piece, I sprayed it, brushed it, dipped it, whatever it took to make it look shiny.They looked so pretty when they were all glossy.

However there is a problem. Without fail, every piece, within a few months, sometimes sooner, gets sticky.

I can’t figure it out. What am I doing wrong? I’ve tried the spray on glosses you find in the paint aisle, I’ve tried clear nail polish (don’t try this one by the way, it eventually starts eating into your clay, unless you use the acrylic polish), I’ve tried floor polish, I’ve tried the actual glaze put out by Sculpey (that one is my least favorite of them all) I’ve even tried the glaze that a lot of my claying friends use…Triple Thick. Still no good, they all turn sticky.

Well, I’m still working on finding the right gloss, but in the meantime, you know what? I’ve found that I actually like the look of the natural finish much better. And I’m not just saying that because I can’t get the glaze to work, lol.

So, do you glaze or not? Is there a trick you’re willing to share with me? 🙂 Like I said, I do like the look of the natural finish better, but some things are really cute with a glaze (like the little charms for bracelets).

I’ll keep trying different things and I’ll let you know if I ever find a good glaze…..but if I don’t….I’m ok with that. 🙂

4 thoughts on “To glaze or not to glaze….

Leave a Reply

