If it doesn’t move…..clay it!

….and even if it does move, if you can get it clayed before it wakes up, then we’re good, right?!! LOL JUST KIDDING!

You know what though? It’s amazing how being a crafter changes the way you do a simple task like shopping. Whenever I go to the store now, every item I look at, the first thought that pops in my head is, “Hmm, can I cover that with clay?”. ๐Ÿ˜€

Clay can be used to cover so many things. If its metal, wood, glass, some thick cardboards, and even some plastics, then you can cover it or embellish it with clay. Be careful with the plastics though as some will not hold up to the heat of the oven. Bic pens, for instance, do very well in the oven, but other brands of plastic pens melt and bend (I learned that one the hard way). I’ve even seen some clayers cover fruit (once they’ve dried or baked it).

Items to clay

Everything in this picture is items I’ve found that will hopefully show up in my clay pieces eventually. Starting at the top of the picture and moving clock-wise the items are:

Large paper clips….you can use these to make bookmarks. Just add a small figurine or object onto the end of one and bake it. Make sure they are metal and not covered with plastic.

Glass candle jars….my previous post I showed a picture of one decorated to look like a cottage.

Glass ornament….haven’t figured out what I’m going to do with that one, but it was on sale for $1 and looked like something pretty could be made from it. I’m thinking I might do a scene inside the ball and decorate the outside as well. Pretty sure it will be something for Christmas….stay tuned. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cutlery….you can cover the handles of these. Goodwill stores are great places to find these very inexpensively.

Miniature glass salt & pepper shakers….these will probably be seasonal, I’m thinking maybe pumpkins?

Magnets….I’ve made several different small items, and then glued magnets on the back to put on my fridge.

Round and square mini mirrors are in the little bags at the bottom of the picture….these are fun to implement into pieces.

Springs are in the box….I haven’t made anything with these yet, but I saw one clayer use them to make bobble head figurines…how fun is that?!!

Match boxes…..again, I haven’t done this yet, but you can cover these miniature boxes and make tiny jewelry boxes or keepsake boxes out of them.

 

So you can see that every day items can be used in your craft. Take a look around your house, you might be surprised at what you already have that you can transform into something amazing. My favorite place to go is our local Goodwill store. Thrift stores are practically gold mines of items you can clay. When you realize that you can add things to your clay or add your clay to things, then it really takes the craft to a whole new level. Have you tried to cover anything yet? Let me know in the comments if you have or if you are going to try. Have fun and happy claying! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

